Solo Flare

Nov. 23, 2021 at 1:25 p.m. PST

Orpheum Annex

Solo Flare is a unique opportunity to hear and see in action the gifted members of the Turning Point Ensemble as soloists. Each performer will premiere compositions created especially for them by composers of their own choice. Conceived as a way to produce original collaborative artistic work on a small scale during the pandemic (see the 1 + 1 + 1… film project), these compositions will be unveiled live in performance, including in some cases additional features/collaborators including dancers, theatrical elements, electronics, and lighting. The program will include the following teams:

• Oboist David Owen, Composer Bob Pritchard, and Dancer/Choreographer Emmalena Frederickson
• Harpist Janelle Nadeau and Composer Dorothy Chang
• Flutist Brenda Fedoruk, Singer Robyn Driedger-Klassen and Composer Jeffrey Ryan
• Double Bassist David Brown and Composer/Fire Dancer Meriah Mennie
• Violinist Mary Sokol Brown and Composer Owen Underhill
• Bassoonist/Pianist Ingrid Chiang and Composer Réjean Marois
• Violinist Marc Destrubé and Composer Peggy Lee
• Trumpet Marcus Goddard and Composer John Oliver
• Pianist Jane Hayes and Composer Farangis Nurulla-Khoja
• Trombonist Jeremy Berkman, Flamenco Dancer Sydney Cochrane, and Composer Josué Tacoronte
• Percussionist Jonathan Bernard and Composer Curtis Andrews